Cyndi Lauper's New Album Detour Out May 6

Written by | Miscellaneous

We loved getting the blues with Cyndi in 2010 and were glad when she at last recorded a standards album in 2003. This year, Cyndi Lauper takes a detour with country classics.

The Grammy-, Emmy-, and Tony-winning Cyndi Lauper takes a new career turn this spring with the release of her 11th studio album, Detour. Lauper will put her signature spin on a dozen classic country-music songs from the 1940s, ’50s, ’60s (list below), with guest appearances by stars like Vince Gill, Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss, and Willie Nelson.

“When I was a really young kid,” says Lauper, “country music was pop music, so this is what we grew up listening to. These songs are part of some of my earliest memories so it has been an absolute thrill to revisit them.”

Detour‘s track list consists of these proto-pop/country crossover numbers from artists like Patsy Cline. (The album includes “Walkin’ After Midnight.”) “I spent a lot of time in my room singing with Patsy,” Lauper recalls. “I had to sing a Patsy Cline song – or two – because her voice was like one of my girlfriends. That’s how close I felt to her.”

The album also includes Lauper’s cover of Dolly Parton’s “Hard Candy Christmas,” which was released in last year’s Christmas season.

Detour is due May 6 from Sire records and will be produced by Sire founder Seymour Stein.

Detour Track Listing
1. Funnel Of Love
2. Detour – Featuring Emmylou Harris
3. Misty Blue
4. Walkin’ After Midnight
5. Heartaches By The Number
6. The End Of The World
7. Night Life – Featuring Willie Nelson
8. Begging To You
9. You’re The Reason Our Kids Are Ugly – Featuring Vince Gill
10. I Fall To Pieces
11. I Want To Be A Cowboy’s Sweetheart – Featuring Jewel
12. Hard Candy Christmas – Featuring Alison Krauss


Last modified: July 27, 2017