Details Emerge on Madonna’s New Album, “Madame X”

Written by | Entertainment, Music

Madonna smoking white hat

Madonna has dropped the first single from her upcoming album, Madame X. The album will follow on June 14 — precisely in the middle of Pride month. The track released today is called “Medellín” and features Columbian singer/songwriter Maluma.

The new album will be the Material Girl’s 14th full-length collection. It’s also her first in four years, following Rebel Heart in 2015. Not surprisingly, it finds the songstress reinventing herself yet again.

Hear the first release

The conceit of this record: Madonna takes on more than a dozen personas as a world spy. “I decided to call my record Madame X,” she explains in a promo video announcing the album’s release. “Madame X is a secret agent traveling around the world, changing identities, fighting for freedom. Bringing light to dark places. Madame X is a dancer. A professor. A head of state. A housekeeper. An equestrian. A prisoner. A student. A mother. A child. A teacher. A nun. A singer. A saint. A whore. A spy in the house of love. I’m Madame X.”

More From Metrosource

A video for “Medellín” will debut with the kind of fanfare that greeted her releases in the 1980s. Next Wednesday, MTV will air a globally-televised special. It’s quite a mouthful: “MTV Presents Madonna Live & Exclusive: ‘Medellín’ Video World Premiere.” During the rollout, Madge will also join DJ Trevor Nelson in London to discuss the album live and take questions from fans. and the music video’s world premiere.

MTV also intends to hold additional fan events in New York City, Sao Paulo and Milan.

What’s Inside

The album includes 13 tracks that will feature collaborations with Quavo, Swae Lee and Anitta. There’s also a second collaboration with Maluma called “Bitch, I’m Loca.” Much of the record is reportedly inspired by Madonna’s time living in Lisbon, Portugal. Accordingly, she sings in Portuguese, Spanish and English. The full track list follows:

  • “Medellin” feat. Maluma
  • “Dark Ballet”
  • “God Control”
  • “Future” feat. Quavo
  • “Batuka”
  • “Killers Who Are Partying”
  • “Crave” feat. Swae Lee
  • “Crazy”
  • “Come Alive”
  • “Faz Gostoso” feat. Anitta
  • “Bitch I’m Local” feat. Maluma
  • “I Don’t Search I Find”
  • “I Rise”
  • “Extreme Occident” (deluxe version only)
  • “Looking for Mercy” (deluxe version only)

Want Metrosource LGBTQ content notifications? Sign up for MetroEspresso

Last modified: April 17, 2019