Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2018 NY Quer Zine Fair

October 13 - October 14

Free

Event Navigation

We are excited to be presenting the fourth edition of The New York Queer Zine Fair, October 12-14. This year’s event will bring more than 55 queer artists, zine makers. collectives and publishers from around the world to present and sell their current work.

NYC LGBT Center / Room 101 and Bureau of General Services-Queer Division
208 West 13 Street (between 7th Ave and Greenwich Ave)
Subways: A, C, E, L, 1, 2 and F.

Friday 12 October / 6pm – 9pm / Opening party for NYQZF and reception for accompanying art exhibition.
Bureau of General Services-Queer Division (NYC LGBT Center / Room 210)

Saturday 13 October / 12pm – 7pm / NYQZF Fair / Room 101
Sunday 14 October / 12pm – 7pm / NYQZF Fair / Room 101

There will be a few different exhibitors on Saturday and Sunday so be sure to check out both days.

Additionally we will have programming taking place in the Bureau of General Services-Queer Division during fair hours:

Programming Hours (more information at bottom of page):
Saturday, 13 October
12:30 – 2:30 / Queer Collage Party
3:30 – 4:30 / Kelli Dunham: Laughter is a Revolutionary Gesture: Humor as Self-Care
5:00 – 6:00 / Straight To Hell (readings)

Sunday, 14 October
1:00 – 3:00 / Karl Marks Children’s Hour Puppet Workshop
4:30 – 5:30 / Belladonna Series (readings)

nyqzf.com
Instagram.com/nyqzf

Free admission.

Wheelchair accessible.

We look forward to seeing you there!
______________________________________

2018 NYQZF Participants:

Saturday And Sunday

3 dot zine / 3dotzine.com / Brooklyn, NY

Aaron Krach / aaronkrach.com / New York, NY

Anand Vedawala / anandvedawala.com / Oakland, CA.

Anthony Cudahy + Ian Lewandowski / anthonycudahy.com + ianlewandowski.com / Brooklyn, NY

Anxiety Dreams / anxiety-dreams.com / Brooklyn, NY

B&D Press / banddpress.blogspot.com / Montreal, QC

Belladonna Series / belladonnaseries.org / Brooklyn, NY

Beth Comics / Bethcomics.com / Austin, TX

Bob Civil / bobcivil.com / Brooklyn, NY

Bound Leather Zine / boundleatherzine.com / Brooklyn, NY

Brusque Babe / BrusqueBabe.com / Williamsport, PA

Caroline Palmer / instagram.com/grumpyfemmme / Northampton, MA

Daily Life Storage / dailylifestorage.com / Philadelphia, PA

Davidmodel / Davidmodel.com + instagram.com/davidmodel_ / Jersey City, NJ

Devyn Farries / thisnumberisinvalid.tumblr.com / Queens Village, NY

Doable Guys / doableguys.com / Brooklyn, NY

GenderFail / Genderfail.space / Brooklyn, NY

hamiltonsix / Brooklyn, NY

HOMOCATS / homocats.com / Brooklyn, NY

horse gurl press / cargocollective.com/chrismoody / Garibaldi, OR

Jessie and Elle Zines / everymountaingoatssongisgay.weebly.com / Staten Island, NY

John Jennison / johnjennison.wixsite.com/illustration / Brooklyn, NY

Kaylee Rowena / kayleerowena.com / Brooklyn, NY

Keiff Jones / keiffjones.com + instagram.com/keiffjones / Brooklyn, NY

Kelli Dunham / kellidunham.com / Brooklyn, NY

Khari Johnson-Ricks / behance.net/KhariJohnsonRicks / Jersey City, NJ

Le Gros Monsieur / legrosmonsieur.fr / Paris, FR

Matthew R.F. Balousek / mrfb.itch.io / Santa Cruz, CA

Milkweed Zine / milkweedzine.com + instagram.com/milkweedzine / Toronto, ON

Nun Comix / etsy.com/shop/NunComix / Falls Church, VA

Olivia M. • Paradox Creations / etsy.com/shop/ParadoxNowCreations + patreon.com/oliviaszines / Canaan, CT

Pink Mince / pinkmince.com / New York, NY

Polari Press / alecstevens.co.uk / Bristol, UK

Sam Rosenthal / samrosenthal.net / Brooklyn, NY

Ser Brunetto / serbrunetto.tumblr.com / New York, NY

Spicy Mango Comics / instagram.com/spicymangocomics / Yonkers, NY

STRAIGHT TO HELL Editions / Straight-To-Hell.com / New York, NY

The Arts & Craps Studio / jpajg.com

Voxigma Lo / instagram.com/voxigma.lo / Staten Island, NY

Zineralia / anhelo-escalante.me / Brooklyn, NY

Saturday Only

Barnard Zine Club / twitter.com/barnardzineclub / New York, NY

Jason Haaf / Love Case / lovecase.bigcartel.com / Brooklyn, NY

JB Brager / instagram.com/jbbrager / Brooklyn, NY

No More Mermaids / tapas.io/series/No-More-Mermaids / Philadelphia, PA

Queer Sailors Zines / hellotheresailor.etsy.com /Brooklyn, NY

Secondhand Emotion / secondhandemozine.tumblr.com / New York, NY

Sula Collective / sulacollective.com / Staten Island, NY

Three Fifty / threefiftycollective.tumblr.com / Brooklyn, NY

Willchenwillbe / instagram.com/willchenwillbe / Elmhurst, NY

Sunday Only

A Tender Witch / LiahPaterson.com / Astoria, NY

Alanis Alvarez/ Reinas: Latinxs on TV / heygorda.wordpress.com / Uniondale, NY

Christopher Clary / christopherclary.com / Allenhurst, NJ

Gara Lonning/Bunt Cake / instagram.com/buntcakezine / Brooklyn, NY

Grace Allison Perkins / gperki.com / Haverstraw, NY

Molly Liu / mozliu.bigcartel.com / Brooklyn, NY

Vănguard / vanguardzine.com

NYQZF Programming:

Saturday 12:30 – 2:30 / Queer Collage Party:
Information to come.

Saturday 3:30 – 4:30 / Kelli Dunham: Laughter is a Revolutionary Gesture: Humor as Self-Care:
Laughter is a Revolutionary Gesture: Humor as Self-Care (Kelli Dunham): The nature of our work as intersectional activists and life as queer folks is intense and that, combined with passion, can sometimes contribute to depression and burnout as well as a single focus on movement work/our passion that is neither healthy for us as individuals nor effective. Yet there is a notable historical precedent for intersectional activism using humor as both a strategy in communication and a tool for personal empowerment. This workshop explores how we can reclaim humor and use it to relieve stress, communicate better, subvert the rigid gender binary and build resilience. You don’t have to consider yourself “a funny person” to participate in this workshop. It’s about discovering our own unique sense of humor. We’ll have fun and NO ONE will make you wear a clown nose, promise.

Saturday 5:00 – 6:00 / Straight To Hell:
Information to come.

Sunday 1:00 – 3:00 / Karl Marks Children’s Hour Puppet Workshop:
Karl Marks Children’s Hour is a traveling puppet show and crafting workshop featuring two dimensional paper puppets of famous and infamous historical and public figures. Attendees of the workshop will conceive and execute a puppet design using construction paper, scissors, paper lunch sacks and glue. Step-by-step written instructions will be provided to each participant and assistance and general instruction will be available from the workshop leader, artist, and performer, Karl Marks. The suggested theme for puppets in this workshop is “Figures in Queer History” but other subjects will be welcomed and encouraged. Attendees should bring their own pair of scissors. Glue and paper will be provided.

Karl Marks is a Brooklyn-based queer artist and performer. He has performed throughout New York City, Washington, D.C. and Baltimore, Maryland at a range of performance venues and museums

Sunday 4:30 – 5:30 / Belladonna* Collective
Belladonna* presents the work of two exciting and boundary-pushing poets as part of our ongoing reading series And / With, now nearing its 20th anniversary year. As with every Belladonna* reading, chaplets of the work presented will be published to coincide with its presentation, and will be available for sale from our table at the Queer Zine Fair, along with many other delicious Belladonna* titles.

Belladonna* is a feminist avant-garde collective, founded in 1999 by Rachel Levitsky. Our mission to promote the work of writers who are adventurous, experimental, politically involved, multi-form, multicultural, multi-gendered, impossible to define, delicious to talk about, unpredictable and dangerous with language. Belladonna* has featured nearly 300 writers of wildly diverse age and origin, writers who work in conversation and collaboration, in and between multiple forms, languages, and critical fields.

Details

Start:
October 13
End:
October 14
Cost:
Free
Event Category:
Website:
www.nyqzf.com

Venue

The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Community Center
208 W 13th Street New York, NY 10011
Phone:
212-620-7310
Website:
gaycenter.org

Organizer

NY Queer Zine Fair
Email:
knowsgay@gmail.com
Website:
www.nyqzf.com