Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Platonov, or A Play with No Name

February 17

$25

Event Navigation

A man of status with questionable sexual ethics runs rampant. A society fixated on the chaos of the moment ignores its collapsing economic system. A culture of open gun possession leads to rash and deadly consequences. Sounds familiar? Blessed Unrest’s raw and sexy rendition of Platonov, or A Play with No Name, in new translation and adaptation by playwright Laura Wickens, shows how Chekhov, nearly 150 years ago in Russia, was piercing through the issues that are highly relevant in America today. Her adaptation does away with all the father figures – except for the protagonist – and relocates the story to the rural South, a milieu in which the antidote to boredom is an entangled web of salacious scandals. Sometimes endearing and often reproachable, the titular character emerges as a man whose shortcomings run rampant due to enablers who surround him.

Performance schedule:
  • Sat, Feb 17, 8:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 18, 3:00pm
  • Thu, Feb 22, 7:00pm
  • Fri, Feb 23, 8:00 pm
  • Sat, Feb 24, 8:00pm
  • Sun, Feb 25, 3:00pm
  • Mon, Feb 26, 7:00pm
  • Fri, March 2, 8:00pm
  • Sat, March 3, 8:00pm
  • Sun, March 4, 3:00pm
  • Mon, March 5, 7:00pm
  • Thu, March 8, 7:00 pm
  • Fri, March 9, 8:00pm
  • Sat, March 10, 3:00pm and 8:00pm
  • Sun, March 11, 3:00pm

Details

Date:
February 17
Cost:
$25
Event Category:
Website:
newohiotheatre.org/platonov.htm

Venue

New Ohio Theatre
154 Christopher Street New York, NY 10014
Phone:
866-811-4111
Website:
newohiotheatre.org/platonov.htm